Like finding water on my bedside table

sometimes my girls surprise me with their love.

“what are you doing Boo?” I ask as she’s taking forever to lay down with me for nap time.
“bringing you something” she says.
and I don’t look, i just wrap her in my sleepy arms.
she squirms, i groan
we sleep

we wake to my lover calling “I’m home!” as my oldest gets out the bread and pb/j for dinner.
opening my eyes I see my Boo yawning, rolling over and faining sleep until i tickle her awake.

it’s late and they’re sleeping now.
i go to my bedroom in search of headphones so i can focus and write…and there’s her present.
on my bedside table…very sticky from her little hands opening it for me.
a bottle of water…

sometimes I think God’s love for me is like that.
heard through worn out ears
not sought or even desired
yet FOUND in the quiet moments
when I least expect it.
and i’m the sticky one…the one who needs to be opened up.
and He’s the One who’s living water is being poured in.
and it’s BEAUTIFUL!

One thought on “Like finding water on my bedside table

  1. Pingback: see you in a week or so « My Spacious Place

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

