My Offering

She’s been talking much about quiet and GROWING in Silence  and I hear the noise in me.

Prayer has become an enigma of sorts to me. I do it…a lot!

Attempting the “without ceasing” thing…but I find myself saying things in rote desiring to fill the space with word or thought.

Prayer…like so many things HE asks of us, is complex and simple.

Easy and Hard.

Close yet far away.

Part for us, part for communion and communication.

Difficult I guess. Not in a bad way…just in the fact that it is.

I love how the Catholic believers light candles and wear the rosary smooth. I love the repetition and the depth that comes with the idea of it all.

I love the stillness and the time spent.

I think we so often confuse prayer with worry.

“I’ll be praying for you.” becomes “i’m worrying for/with you” in our minds.

It’s not the same thing. IT’S THE OPPOSITE according to Philippians 4:4-7

 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

She calls it a dance.

I’m leaning that way…loving the thought of being led in beauty. Catching a rhythm that moves more that my feet.

I think maybe it’s about offering somehow too.

Willingly surrendering time and thoughts.

Giving of self.

Surrendering to it. To HIM.

I love that it’s not ABOUT ME or what I want. It’s not a “laundry list” of wants…but communion.

I may not know what it’s all about..it may still confuse and seem beyond my grasp…but I know I miss it when I refrain.

I MISS HIM!

His touch on my heart…guiding me in offering. Holding me close and understanding what I cannot find the words to say.

what about you?

One thought on “My Offering

  1. Oh girl, we are so kindred it’s not even funny!
    complex and simple….YES!
    communion and communication…YES!

    both things I’ve been pondering lately. especially the communion and communication because He is doing a number on me lately.

    Love prayer being referred to as a dance. cuz I’m an awkward dancer 🙂 but it’s worth embarassing myself over…just to have His hand on the curve of my back…

    thanks for blessing me today, friend. For making me realize I’m not alone in this journey. love you mucho!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

