In Need of A KING

http://www.sxc.hu/photo/1208573

“i think “o Holy Night” is my favorite Christmas song. So much truth in the words. as for me…I’m wrestling with faith right now. Maybe it’s because I’ve been saved for 24years,or if its just that I feel like I’m chasing my tail…but lots of questions are rolling around my head of late. Advent makes me stop and think about Jesus. Not “religion” or even my belief…just my king.” was the comment I left on her blog today.

So much of me is in that comment…

In the world today, I find myself questioning “Christianity’ MORE AND MORE.

I don’t doubt Jesus!

I DON’T DOUBT MY KING!

I do however doubt the people that claim to love Him.

Hypocrisy is everywhere…just PURE MEANNESS around every corner.

I don’t need to define it, as you read this I’m sure you have “it” in mind.

Where is all the love that He Spoke of? All the STORY?

My King was gentle and compassionate.

He was real about WHO HE WAS, yet loved those who were as filthy rags.

He was and IS WHO I BELIEVE IN!

I don’t believe in abortion, NOR  DO I BELIEVE IN HARMING THOSE WHO DO.

I don’t believe in homosexuality, NOR DO I BELIEVE BY SCORNING THEM WE DO ANY GOOD.

I don’t believe in Divorce, NOR DO I BELIEVE THAT I CAN SAY A WORD AGAINST THOSE WHOSE SHOES I’VE NOT WORN.

I believe that people should work to provide for their families, BUT I DON’T BELIEVE THAT THOSE WHO STRUGGLE TO MAKE ENDS MEET SHOULD BE MADE TO FEEL EVEN WORSE FOR ACCEPTING HELP.

Who are we? “THE CHURCH”?

Why have we bought into the meanness of the enemy?

Judgement and Hate.

Feeling some sort of entitlement, instead of doing our best to love people to HIM rather than push them away.

We ARE MISSING THE MARK!

HIS WORDS (Matthew 7) are on my mind tonight.

Words MY KING said years ago, yet we ALL need to read them again…and again…AND AGAIN!

yes, even me!

This year my family is celebrating Jesus’ Birthday by doing Advent each night. Reading the prophecies about Jesus’ coming have made me STOP!

Made me focus on Why I LOVE HIM!

How excited the Shepherds were that amazing Night.

How exuberant and simply AMAZED.

Simple men.

Simple sheep.

Extraordinary NIGHT!

Oh to be in that field…to see the Hosts of Heaven dance and sing HIS APPEARANCE!

To bow before the KING!

Father, HELP ME REMEMBER THAT LIFE GIVING DAY I DID THE SAME!

Oh that we wouldn’t forget that we are all simple men…simple sheep…in NEED OF A KING!

 

10 thoughts on “In Need of A KING

  1. Preach it, girl!
    Have you checked out Shelly’s (Redemptions Beauty) book club book right now? Her post today is about it if you haven’t. Anyway…I’m reading along and girl…it’s all about THIS!

    My favorite quote so far of the book “Leaving Church”:
    “If Jesus meant for His followers to rule the world, then why did He teach them to wash feet?”

    You get it. and I’m with you on striving to live it.
    All for the love of Him…

  2. Amen, Shannon…It can be discouraging sometimes when we look away from Him…so glad to hear that you have been blessed as you have been reading about Him…I Need Jesus to be King of my heart, and my Savior…cannot save myself…Blessings to you 🙂

  3. I like you’re juxtapositions here, on the issues. I wish that words such as your were more popular in the mainstream, for pointing out our inherent contradictions that I hope are often unintentional

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

