Nails

 

 I can’t get her out of my mind.

I sat in her chair yesterday morning. She had a cold.

It is always hard for me when I can’t talk to someone. I tried, but the language barrier only allowed so much…so I listened instead.

The voices of these beautiful Oriental women…

“I love listening to you talk” I say.

She smiles.

“My girls and I always try to say the words on the back of our fortune cookie papers, but I’m sure we do a horrible job”

Another smile.

So I listen.

Smiling at the beauty in the words I cannot understand.

I’m sure there’s a JESUS lesson here (I find He uses everything)

  • something about how our words don’t always make sense. This “Christian-ese” that we speak so well. That we teach our children so well.

In High School I overheard a conversation that went something like:

“It was awesome at church last night, he really PRAYED THROUGH!” said boy.

“He prayed through what? asks confused girl.

No wonder we appear odd to the unsaved…we speak  in riddles. Assuming they’ll catch our point somehow.

  • how to speak to those who CAN’T understand? this grace and Redemption freely given to a world where nothing is free.

How do we help them?  Why is it hard to share HIM? If I believe He is the GREATEST gift, then why can’t I find the words to share Him?

  • what do I do in two weeks when I see her again?

Do I try again to make small talk with a woman who speaks broken English?

Do I assume she can understand me?

Cause you see, I don’t want to be this “goes-on-with-my-life-living-in-a-bubble” kind of woman. I’ve been that way for SO LONG. But aren’t we made for more than that? Something deeper and more meaningful?

There’s this song that’s been in my head since yesterday after meeting my new friend. (again, Jesus uses EVERYTHING)

 Called Me Higher  by All Sons and Daughters

The words speak so true:

 I could just sit, I could just sit and wait for all your goodness, hope to feel Your presence

I could just stay, I could just stay right where I am and hope to feel You, hope to feel something again

I could hold on, I could hold on to who I am and never let You change me from the inside

I could be safe, I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home, never let these walls down

 

But You have called me higher, You have called me deeper

 And I’ll go where You will lead me, Lord, You’ll lead me

 You’ll lead me Lord

Is it that easy?

Cause I really do want to “let these walls down…go where You lead me”. I really honestly do.

I want to do it here on this blog.

I want to do it with my children. (And not just in the losing-my-temper kind of way.)

I want to do it with my WISPY ones.

I want to be more real…more raw.

I want to be TALK TO THIS PRECIOUS LADY!

So…I guess I will. Just trust HIM to give me the chance.

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

