Hold on Tightly

Have you ever met someone, and instantly after you realize that you really want to get to know them? That they are the kind of people that you want to be around and to learn from? You want them in your life, to be a consistent part of it?  I have two such friends that are on my heart today.

I want to learn from them. I want to be better because of them.

Most of my dearest friendships have been built that way. I am truly blessed!

“Make new friends but keep the old one is silver and the other gold.”

She is an amazing woman that I met before either of us had children, at a time when I really needed a friend. It was a time of transition for me, although I didn’t realize it until much later. God knit us together, she and me, in a way that changed us both, I think. She’s one of those people that I get to be in contact with at least once a week, and when I haven’t seen her in a while  I really miss her. She makes me want to be better.  She’s the kind of a listener than I want to be. Maybe that’s why I love her so much, because she is such a great listener. While I sit there and stumble over my words, interrupting her all the time and realizing that I’m an idiot,  she loves me anyway. She’s the one who sits with the newbie in the room. The one who randomly busts a move and we instantly join in. Someone I didn’t think I would cherish like I do. She’s an amazing mother, a great wife, and a compassionate friend. She is a woman who laughs easy and loves REAL.

He’s my new “kid brother.” We met years ago, but never really knew each other until a month ago or so. In his words, “I never saw how we were the yin and the yang to each other.”   I talk too much, blab and ramble, he takes forever to respond. 😉 I talk too much, he IS quiet. But we’ve grown so much individually by being in connection. He’s a person I want need  in my life, a person I want to be more like. His friendship forces me to not be such a control freak in areas BEYOND MY CONTROL, and to focus on the things that really matter. He makes me want to embrace the quiet and not care that the noise is neglected. He challenges me to dig that little bit deeper,  currently by reading books that I wouldn’t necessarily pick up on my own. He Reminds me who I was at that age, maybe. And in the remembering, I seek what I miss.

Sometimes I think the relationships that God brings to us are in the people who will challenge and stretch us the most. The people who make us want to be better.

Over time we realize that we are the lucky ones.  We are the blessed.

If we are really smart, we grab hold of those people and we let them change us from the inside out. We marry them, build a life, and if God desires, we have children with them.

Or we become close friends with them, developing friendships that are stronger than we originally imagined possible.

We allow the pull and stretch of each other, enjoy the laughter, and love all the mess that comes with growth. In hindsight, rather long or short, we see the beauty that Abba has brought.

We are better for knowing these amazing people! We are stronger for knowing them! Our marriages are stronger. Our love for those in our care is stronger. WE ARE ALL IN ALL BETTER PEOPLE BECAUSE OF THEM.

If we are smart, we grab hold of them with both hands, holding tightly until our knuckles are white and we don’t let go. Not just because we’re stubborn but because we realize that they are a gift. A gift that maybe comes around only a few times in a great, great while. They become family and we are indebted to them for their love.

We are thankful!

 

One thought on “Hold on Tightly

  1. Oh goodness, that silver and gold song, I used to sing in my short time in Girl Scouts! 🙂 Good memories…kind of. Haha Anywho, great post Shannon. Friends are amazing and be the light in our sometimes dark world. ❤ God places just the right people in our lives.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

